Entry Requirements

entry requirements

When entering the country, you must show the following documents to the Inspector of the National Office of Immigration and Naturalization:

  • Passport with visa, valid for at least 6 months (if necessary)
  • International boarding card, properly completed
  • Tourism Card or Visa, authorized accordingly.
  • Fare or return trip ticket to home country or next destination.
  • Required financial solvency should not be less than five hundred balboas ($500.00) or its equivalent in credit card, bank reference, and letter of employment or travelers checks, in addition to an additional amount, according to nationality. (Resolution 1017 bis of March 22, 2000). Additional requirements vary according to nationality and are subject to change. You are recommended to check with a Panamanian Consulate or Embassy or ticketing agents for airlines that fly to Panama to obtain the most updated information.

List of countries that do not require a stamped visa to enter Panama 

Please note that recent modifications were conducted to the Panamanian Immigration laws:

The latest migration updates as of 9 January 2013 has classified the following countries as non-required a stamped visa:

Antigua and Barbuda, Germany, Angola, Andorra, Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Bolivia, Bahamas, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Belgium, Butane, Brunei, Belarus, Bulgaria, Botswana, Belize Cape Verde, Canada, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, South Korea, Chile, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Spain, United States of America (USA), Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Fiji, Finland, Guatemala, Georgia, Gabon, Granada, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Israel, Marshal Islands, Comoros Islands, Solomon Islands, Italy, Island, Ireland, Japan, Jamaica, Kuwait, Kenya, Kiribati, Lithuania, Lithonia, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Moldova, Maldives, Malta, Mongolia, Montenegro, Micronesia, Madagascar, Namibia, Nicaragua, Nauru, Norway, The Netherlands, Paraguay, Palau, Papua New Guiney, Peru, Poland , Portugal,   Qatar, Taiwan, Saharawi Republic, Great Britain, Czech republic, Hellenic Republic (Greece), Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Santa Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, The Vatican, Seychelles, Serbia, Switzerland, Singapore, Saint Thomas and Prince (Sao Tome e Principe), Sweden, South Africa, Samoa, San Marino, Trinidad and Tobago, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vanuatu, Vietnam, and all Panamanian citizens living overseas.

TIf your country does not appear on this list, you can obtain a tourist visa valid for 90 days in the Panamanian consulate in your country by complying with the following requirements:

  • Complete the visa application form.
  • Submit original and complete copy of the passport or travel document with minimum of three (3) months of validity.
  • Submit airline reservation itinerary checked with onward journey.
  • Submit a copy of the ID or passport of the country of residence of domicile.
  • Provide three (3) photographs when visa applications are submitted in outside the country, except tourist visa filed with the National Service Migration in the Republic of Panama.
  • Pay the sum of USD 50.00 at the time of your visa application before the National Immigration Service, as immigration services fee.
  • Provide proof of sufficient funds for maintenance and support for the time been in the country, which may not be less than USD 500.00.
  • Provide copy of last permit that was approved by the Panamanian immigration authorities if applicable.
  • Submit confirmed hotel reservation, if applicable.
  • Submit, if applicable, letter of invitation.
  • If requirement No. 10 is applicable, provide proof of financial solvency of the person who invited you by using the following documents:
    • Bank certificate.
    • Affidavit
    • Work letter and Social Security documentation, in case of Panamanian Citizens.

List of countries that require stamped visa to enter Panama 

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrein, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bangladesh, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Eritrea, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guiney-Brazzaville, Guiney-Bissau,  Equatorial Guiney, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazajstan, Kirgizstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Nepal, Oman, Palestine, Pakistan, North Korea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, People’s Republic of China, Swaziland, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tanzania, Tunez, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Zambia and Yemen.

The tourist card is valid for 30 days. If you choose to stay longer, request an extension 7 days prior to the expiration of the first 30 days at the migration office. For more information visit: www.migracion.gob.pa. If you are willing to extend your stay in Panama up to 90 days, make sure to visit the immigration office in Panama City, David or Chitre, which are the only offices that can issue an extension, prior at least two weeks before the expiration of 30 days. It might take you some time to collect all necessary documents for the extension.

List of countries that require stamped visa to enter Panama 

Cameroon, Dominican Republic, Ghana, Haiti, Malawi, Russian Federation, Philippines, Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Swaziland,  Togo and Zimbabwe.

If your country is not listed above, contact your nearest Panamanian Consulate or Embassy or the Panamanian Immigration office Tel: + (507) 507 – 1800 or at Fax: + (507) 507 – 1941.

For information regarding Pensioned and other Residence Visas, 2nd Passports, etc, please click here.

You may enter Panama with 200 cigarettes and 3 bottles of liquor tax free. If you try to leave Panama with articles made from endangered species you may be severely punished.

For more information, please contact us