New regime of visas for citizens of Europe and India

Posted on 2018-04-18

Europe Citizenship

Panama adopted a new visa regime for the citizens of the European Union and India, reported the President of the Republic. A decree carrying the signature of the President Juan Carlos Varela and Security Minister, Alexis Bethancourt, establishes new measures migratory to citizens holding a Schengen visa or residence in countries of the European Union and the other Decree varies the condition of visa restricted visa stamped for the citizens of the India.

The first signed Decree stipulates that visas issued by countries that make up the Schengen area (covering 26 countries of Europe) must be multiple visas, have been used in previous way on the territory of the issuing country and minimum effective one year to the time to enter Panamanian territory.

The second decree, which will go into effect as of June 1, 2018, establishes that the visas stamped for Hindus may be issued by the consulates of the Republic of Panama in the Republic of India. The stamped visa immigration category is the same that currently applies to citizens of countries such as the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

With the entry into force of both decrees, the Government seeks to maintain an immigration policy that guarantees flows more orderly and safe while it seeks to attract visitors from the largest exporters of tourism and the major the world’s emerging economies, representing new scenarios and opportunities for growth for the country in terms of investment and trade.

Source: AN Panama